EDU520 Week 2 Reflection Post

A little humor about kids and technology! I had a good laugh watching this!

Reflection

“We need technology in every classroom and in every student and teacher’s hand, because it is the pen and paper of our time, and it is the lens through which we experience much of our world.” – David Warlick

So far, I have found this class, Digital Media and Technology, very interesting. I have come across some great and useful information to really get me thinking about digital media in our world. The TEDTalk video that we watched in unit 1 was VERY interesting to me and although I have heard things that he said about learning and technology before he presented the information in a manner that was catching and really made you think. Specifically about the different learning styles of children and how each child cannot be taught the same and expect the same outcomes.

student_with_ipad_technology_in_the_classroom1

I think that this is one big reason for me why digital technology is a very important part of the learning experience. In the video there were a few different examples of technology that were presented and one that specifically stood out to me and intrigued me was the example of the classroom that uses computers and every day the children walk in the classroom and look for their name on a computer. This computer has the specific lessons that the teacher has decided that they need to complete for the lesson. These children are evaluated by information they gave on the computer along with what their teacher had observed through the day. The teachers are able to develop a customized path for the children so they learn at their own pace. This type of technology allows children to be able to learn at their own pace and the teacher knows that they are really absorbing the information needed to go to the next level within the lesson. The article I have attached here describes why we should integrate technology into the classroom and its importance.

www.edutopia.org/technology-integration-introduction

This is the TEDTalk video that I think all teachers or anyone in the education field needs to watch. It is a very insightful video and makes you really think about your students and how they learn.

I currently use technology 75% of my day. BYOD is something near and dear to me. I use my own devices for work and I would have it no other way. It is easier for me to work and be able to be comfortable with my own devices when doing so.  I work at a job from my home in which I am on the computer and phone to do my work. When I do have to travel I am using my laptop wherever I am to stay connected with my work and family. I am also using technology everyday because I am taking my classes online. I stay connected to my classmates along with completing my assignments via my computer and internet. Without this technology my life would be completely different. Technology is very useful and having information at my fingertips at all times allows me to be a more diversified person in many ways. I learn so many different things from something as simple as social media. Things I probably would have never known otherwise. I found this article very interesting. We can see how our lives have been affected by technology in the past 10 years. I chose this article because I came across it when my husband and I were looking to find out ways to make a will. We found out we can actually do it online! Wow, how times have changed. The convenience of having technology can be looked at in positive and negative ways, but for me it is a very positive thing and I don’t know what I would do without it. “But no matter where we go from here, it’s clear that technology is in nearly every aspect of our lives and that we’ll be more connected with it in the future. As this happens, it’s worth noting that the human experience is changing right in front of our eyes.” (Kaiser, B., 2011, para 13)

https://www.legalzoom.com/articles/10-years-of-new-technology-and-how-our-lives-have-changed

Kaiser, B. (2011) 10 Years of New Technology and How our Lives Have Changed. Retrieved from https://www.legalzoom.com/articles/10-years-of-new-technology-and-how-our-lives-have-changed

Johnson, L., Adams Becker, S., Estrada, V., and Freeman, A. (2015). NMC Horizon Report: 2015 Higher Education Edition. Austin, Texas: The New Media Consortium

 

My question to all of you, what is your take on the technology used in some classrooms today? Specifically the use of the monitoring of students on the computer which allows teachers to have students work at their own pace and direct them to the next steps they need to take to be on track?

Leave a Reply

